News

 

 

 

History Cooked: Medieval Feasts meet Middle East

Join us Sunday 13th January 2019 at Honey & Smoke for an exciting culinary collaboration between us and chef and cookery writer Rosie Sykes and the food historian and FT’s History Cook columnist Polly Russell.

Travelling back in time more than 700 years to the banquet hall and kitchens of King Richard II, this epicurean adventure takes inspiration from the oldest cookery manuscript in the English language, The Forme of Cury. Just to be clear, ‘cury’ is not early evidence of a British passion for Indian curry – ‘cury’ was the middle English word for cooking. So, while curry will not be on the menu, spices certainly will be. After all, the manuscript was written when the medieval spice trade was in full swing. Ranging from the fantastical to the familiar, The Forme of Cury tells a story of wealth, display and culinary connection with the rest of the world. This History Cooked event will begin with a drink and nibbles on arrival and a talk by Polly telling us all about this extraordinary royal medieval manuscript and other historic British cookbooks from the British Library collection, followed by a delicious feast cooked by Itamar, Sarit and Rosie from the manuscript.

Places are £65 and include a drink on arrival and a sharing feast cooked by us. Additional drinks can be bought on the day. Tickets can be bought via our online shop 

Book Tour

We will be appearing at a few festivals and events over the summer to celebrate the launch of  our new book At Home: Middle Eastern recipes from our kitchen.

 

Saturday 24th November – Food For Thought Fundraising Feast with The Everlasting Foodbank at Reidvale Neighbourhood Centre in Dennistoun, Glasgow
Friday 23rd November – Middle Eastern cookery demo in aid of Legacy of War Foundation, Edinburgh New Town Cookery School
Saturday 3rd NovemberPerch Hill with Sarah Raven
Saturday 13th OctoberCheltenham Literature Festival
Saturday 6th OctoberPeterley Manor Feast on the Farm
Friday 28th-Sunday 30th September – Aldeburgh Food and Wine Festival
Sunday 16th SeptemberGood Life Festival, North Wales
Saturday 15th SeptemberAbergavenny Food Festival
Tuesday 11th September –  Waterstones Hampstead
Saturday 8th September – FT Weekend Festival
Saturday 1st-Sunday 2nd September – Nantwich Food Festival
Saturday 25th AugustRiver Cottage Festival
Thursday 2nd AugustBuilding Feasts Supper Club
Tuesday 24th July – Soho Farmhouse
Sunday 22nd July – Wright’s Food Emporium
Saturday 21st July – Dusty Knuckles, Cardiff
Wednesday 18th July – Daunt Books, Marylebone
Saturday 14th July – Latitude Festival, Suffolk
Friday 13th July – Atkinson-Pryce Books, Biggar
Thursday 12th JulyTopping St Andrews
Wednesday 11th JulyMainstreet Trading Company
Tuesday 10th July – Forum Books, Northumberland
Monday 9th July – Little Ripon Bookshop, Yorkshire
Thursday 5th JulyChorleywood Bookshop
Wednesday 4th JulyTopping Books Bath
Tuesday 3rd JulyWaterstones Tottenham Court Road
Wednesday 20th June The Food Talks at Honey & Spice, our deli on Warren St

More dates will be added soon. We hope to see you on the road!

The Honeys

x